Join our zoo community

Entering a zoological career with no qualifications?

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by Georgie, 5 Jun 2017.

1. Georgie

Georgie New Member

Hi all! I'm in a bit of a rutt at the moment so any help would be appreciated.

I'm currently studying my degree in zoology (woo!) and enjoying it immensely. My partner on the other hand is stuck in a dead end job he hates. He regularly says to me that he wishes he could work with animals and had followed his dreams as a teenager. He originally wanted to work with elasmobranchs and shark species but didn't get high enough grades to study marine biology.

He cannot afford to go back to school to do a BTEC in animal care let alone university. Is it possible to get into animal jobs with only volunteering experience alone? He's extremely passionate about animals, especially invertebrates, reptiles and marine animals and works so hard. Whenever we go to zoos, he loves it and asks so many questions to keepers and is always telling me how much he wishes he could do it.

2. Falconhoof

Falconhoof Well-Known Member 10+ year member

I've known keepers who have come from working in animal shelters and rescue centres, and some even from farming backgrounds, so I think the proven experience is as important - possibly more important - than formal qualifications.

Loxodonta Cobra likes this.
  3. Ned

Ned Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Why doesn't he look for a job in an aquatic centre and do an online/ evening class in fish keeping then go from there?

4. Dassie rat

Dassie rat Well-Known Member 10+ year member

I know a few people who have become zoo keepers after being volunteer keepers. If managers know that a volunteer keeper works efficiently, then there is a good chance that that person could get a paid job. I have heard of graduates who consider themselves too 'precious' to do menial work, while a volunteer keeper will probably have a lot of experience doing menial work.

5. Jurek7