Join our zoo community

Free-ranging peafowl

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Junklekitteb, 27 Oct 2019.

Tags:
  1. Junklekitteb

Junklekitteb Well-Known Member

As you will see, I am still new to Zoochat, so don't be surprised to hear questions coming from me.
    Since most of these will be small questions, I will post them all in one thread as they pop up.

Currently the main questions I have had are connected to peafowl. Are free ranging peafowl the exception or the norm? How do zoos prevent them from entering predators exhibits ( they can fly surprising distances)? Also, can green or Congo peafowls be free ranging?

2. FBBird

FBBird Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Free ranging Blue Peafowl are common. They cannot be prevented from flying into predators' exhibits, and sometime don't make it out again.
    Congo Peafowl are too rare and too specific in their requirements, ever to be considered for free range. Green Peafowl are not cold hardy, and the males can become aggressive.

Zooplantman likes this.
  3. Kakapo

Kakapo Well-Known Member

Fuengirola zoo in Spain used to have free-ranging green peafowl.

4. lintworm

lintworm Well-Known Member 15+ year member

Apenheul has several Green peafowl free-ranging.

Congo peafowl have for some time been free-ranging in Burgers' Bush, a 13.000 square meter indoor rainforest hall.

5. FBBird

Perhaps the operative words here are 'used to'. They can develop a tendency to attack people.

6. FBBird

Interested to know about the Apenheul Green Peafowl, and whether that succeeds long term.
    Free range in a confined indoor setting, however large, is very different from being at complete liberty.

7. lintworm

lintworm Well-Known Member 15+ year member

They have had them for several years now, males only, and it seems to work fine.

8. Arizona Docent

Arizona Docent Well-Known Member 15+ year member