Join our zoo community

Hello from France

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Panthera9, 26 May 2020.

1. Panthera9

Panthera9 Well-Known Member

Hi everyone !
    I'm a French zoo fan since many years and a big cats enthousiat but I also love many other animals. Felines are my favorite subject so I have much informations about them :)
    I visited many zoos during the last decade, particularly in western France and in and around Paris. My favorite one is la Boissière du Doré. I go there often and know quite well the animals. I'm also a regular visitor at Doué la Fontaine since almost a decade.
    Except zoo information, I'm a 26 years-old teacher (so no zoo visits during school days :( ) and mother of a 2-years-old boy who loves animals too ! It runs in the family :)

2. amur leopard

amur leopard Well-Known Member 5+ year member

Welcome! I am also (half) French but I still get a decent amount of zoo-going done in France :D
    By zoos in Western France do you mean Beauval, Doue etc. and then la Menagerie du Jardin des Plantes, Vincennes, Thoiry etc. for zoos in and around Paris? I would be interested to hear what you have to say about them :)
    We have a fairly large French community on Zoochat but we are still missing locals for fairly large zoos, so you are very welcome!

By the way, why is Boissiere du Dore your favourite zoo?

3. Panthera9

La Boissière du Doré is one the closest to my home and I've know it for more than a decade (first visit in 2009, first year pass in 2014). I got attached to many animals here during all those years. I've also seen the zoo grow and get better and better each year : much more implication in conservation, and also a lot of upgrades in the enclosures.

The zoos I visit the most (closest) are la Boissière du Doré, Legendia Parc, Doué la Fontaine, and also but less : les Sables d'Olonne, Mervent, Branféré, Pont Scorff (now closed), le Refuge de l'Arche.