Join our zoo community

Hello!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ungulata, 12 May 2008.

1. Ungulata

Ungulata Active Member

Hello All,

Um, feel a bit sheepish for posting an introduction after already having engaged in a couple of threads etc but here goes anyway;

I'm a zoology with conservation student at Bangor University, Wales (along with Thonoir). I have an extremely keen interest in ungulates; particularly African and Asian antelope. The Tragelaphus genus is a particular interest, were I forced to narrow it down! I'm currently planning a dissertation on the Eastern (mountain) Bongo Tragelaphus eurycerus isaaci, which should be an excellent summer's work! I am also interested in cetaceans (not suprisingly, you might say), the cats, and amphibians. I certainly have a soft spot for a frog or two! However, there is very little I am NOT interested in really! My closest major zoo is Chester.

One thing I will just say, and to sound in no way a suck-up, but its great to join such a wonderful bunch of knowledgeable people. Makes me realise just how much there is to learn! :D

Cheers

2. Writhedhornbill

Writhedhornbill Well-Known Member

Hello Ungulata!

What Birds are you interested in? (Hornbills?)

Yay, 3000th POST!

3. Ungulata

Ungulata Active Member

Hi Writhedhornbill, birds hmmm, any birds really, fascinating creatures. I am especially fond of raptors (who isn't though right?). The secretary bird is pretty awesome, oooo and I find the auks pretty cool - guillemots, black guillemots, puffins, etc etc the "northern hemisphere's answer to penguins". This may be due to some recent uni work on them but they are fascinating. Ooo the ratites too! Nothing quite prepares you when you first see a wild ostrich...:D

How about you?

4. dragon(ele)nerd

dragon(ele)nerd Well-Known Member

Nice to meet you, Ungulata. You like elephants?