Join our zoo community

How aggressive are zebras really?

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by elefante, 19 Apr 2017.

1. elefante

elefante Well-Known Member 10+ year member

I have heard people on here say zebras are aggressive in captivity, yet I've seen all three species mixed with other savanna species in zoos during my visits. The Como Zoo has plains zebras in with kudus and sulcata tortoises, Henry Doorly has Grevy's in with ostriches, and the Hogle Zoo has mountain zebras in with giraffes and ostriches. In all of these the zebras and other animals seemed to keep to themselves. I know this is only three different collections and not multiple viewings, but the animals all seemed to get along. Is it just that some zebras are aggressive? Do they have to be gradually introduced to the herd?

2. Arizona Docent

Arizona Docent Well-Known Member 15+ year member

I am no expert, but from what I understand Grevy's are the most aggressive of the three zebra species and the most difficult to put in mixed exhibits. When the San Diego Safari Park opened they had Grevy's in one of their huge (approximately 100 acre) field exhibits with other hoofstock, but had to move them to their own hillside enclosure. You mention Henry Doorly mixing Grevy's with ostriches and my local Reid Park Zoo does the same. I think this works because ostriches are equally cantankerous and will not take any gruff. The only zoo I know of that mixes Grevy's with antelope is Caldwell Zoo (where it seems to not be an issue, but maybe they only have female zebras?).

Coelacanth18 likes this.
  3. Zoofan15

Zoofan15 Well-Known Member 5+ year member

Zebra stallions are of course more aggressive than mares. It's common for stallions to harrass new mares joining the herd if they are pregnant to cause them to abort their foal so adding pregnant females to an established herd is usually not advised for this reason.