Join our zoo community

Inclusivity in Zoo Design

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by AKhan, 18 Dec 2020.

1. AKhan

AKhan Member

My name is Asad, and I am a cross-disciplinary design student at Parsons studying to be a zoo designer. There is not much existing literature on the subject of inclusive design in the zoo, so I have written a paper on the topic.

I would appreciate any feedback on this work. I am inviting you to open up the conversation on this matter or simply to provide criticism and suggestions. I would like to refine this text into a usable and established brief on considerations of inclusivity in zoo design.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: 20 Dec 2020
  2. Jana

Jana Well-Known Member 15+ year member

What is meaning of "inclusive design"? Is it equivalent to a design thats in harmony with surrounding architecture and terrain? Or?

3. Onychorhynchus coronatus

Onychorhynchus coronatus Well-Known Member

I had a read through this and it is "inclusivity" in the organization of zoos in quite a woke sense.

4. Onychorhynchus coronatus

It is well written Asad but my constructive criticism of this is more that a lot of this comes across as very common sense and doesn't particularly need to be conveyed using woke language / talking points.

Be culturally sensitive and don't create things in tacky / bad taste, be mindful that zoos were a product of colonialism from ancient times until the first half of the 20th century, pay your staff fair wages for their labour, have access and facilities for disabled and blind visitors, do not have extortionate entrance prices, seek for greater community engagement.

Well, yes.... I mean all of these things are either just obvious or common sense objectives that should be strived for aren't they ? :confused:

So what is the need to dress them up in woke language and ideology. o_O