Join our zoo community

Macaws Coastal Zoo

Discussion in 'Speculative Zoo Design and Planning' started by Macaw16, 9 Mar 2015.

1. Macaw16

Macaw16 Well-Known Member 5+ year member

In my spare time I design zoos on very big pieces of paper (its a good job my parents are civil engineers:p). I decided I would tell you a bit about one, I happened to choose this one because its one of the smaller ones and as I write this it is just off the press! This one is a coastal zoo, I'm not sure where it's based but probably a small English seaside town.

This is my first time doing this so I'm sorry if it's not very good. I hope you enjoy!

We begin by entering a large room which includes a shop, you come in and are greeted by the admissions desk, which behind it has a large globe to demonstrate how much sea and coasts our planet has. You go down a short corridor (passing the toilets), and come to a small exhibit for Atlantic Horseshoe Crab (limulus polyphemus). It is a simple design featuring a low barrier which allows you to see underwater and above water, along the back is a rocky island.

Next you enter British Coasts which displays species from British waters. You immediately see a round tank containing Short-snouted Seahorses (hippocampus hippocampus). Next you discover a large tank containing many British saltwater fish and corals. You can also find a tank containing various British rockpool creatures. As well as the rockpool tank the is the rockpool touch zone, which includes crabs, anemones, urchins and other rockpool creatures. In British Coasts you can find interactive displays about our coasts and the species found around them. You can also see the dolphins (more about them later) underwater in here.

Now you enter Living Jelly which includes oddly shaped tanks containing various species of jellyfish.