Join our zoo community

Melaka Zoo Melaka Zoo

Discussion in 'Malaysia' started by Nigel, 24 Jan 2008.

1. Nigel

Nigel Well-Known Member

I have no knowledge as to whether the zoo officials here had any involvement in the Taiping 4 saga , so this thread is about the zoo itself

I visited the zoo about 17 years ago , and at that point it was a fairly good zoo albeit the vegetation hadnt had much chance to mature .
    Since then , it has turned into a luxuriant leafy zoo with heaps of shade for its inhabitants .
    It is quite a large zoo in area , located beside a lake on the outskirts of Melaka

However , I was somewhat disappointed to see the lack of improvements for the animals benefit ( which Taiping Zoo stood out ) The majority of enclosures could have easily been enlarged , even if only a little bit . There was heaps of unused land next to the majority of enclosures .
    There is a main roadway that goes around the zoo in the shape of a big sausage , and smaller pathways go off that to various exhibits . The middle of the zoo is an undeveloped core , that probably has service areas ( it is out of bounds for the general public )
    Good points included ; a large animal hospital , a good big cat exhibit , a large collection of numerous cattle exhibits , more elephant enrichment than found in other Malaysian Zoos ,( but see below for another issue ) and long term plans to try to keep Malaysian tiger from extinction by way of a neighbouring sanctuary .
    Negative points included ; a circus that had high volume sound ( I never went into the circus during show time ) small mammals building that is a disgrace in all areas , an elephant that had a suspicious head wound , possibly from angkus misuse , and a nearly empty reptile house .
    Alot of the cattle enclosures were turned to mud , but then thats quite common in a country that has heavy downpours on every second day .....