Join our zoo community

Midwestern/Great Plains Zoo Road Trip

Discussion in 'United States' started by GraysonDP, 10 Feb 2017.

1. GraysonDP

GraysonDP Well-Known Member

This May I am graduating from college (I'll be receiving a degree in English from a college in Ohio) and to celebrate I am going on a six-day road trip from Ohio to Nebraska to see several marquee zoos. The confirmed destinations are:

Stop #1- Indianapolis Zoo

Stop #2- Saint Louis Zoo

Stop #3- Kansas City Zoo

and finally...

Stop #4- Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo

This is my first time visiting any of these zoos and the expectations are quite high. I expect most of them (Omaha and Saint Louis for sure, Kansas City a bit less so and Indianapolis a bit less than that) to quickly become some of the very best I have seen and to have many of the best habitats I have seen for many different species. I will be documenting this road trip in a similar style to the way Snowleopard did with his road trips in 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012 with complete reviews evaluating every exhibit found at each institution. Also, hundreds of photographs will be taken at each zoo and posted in the galleries. In particular, I will try to spend much time talking about and photographing the exhibits not given a few review yet on zoochat (African Grasslands, Polar Bear Point, Helzberg Penguin Plaza, the infamous "modern church" aka International Orangutan Center, Polar Bear Plunge, Orangutan Canopy, River's Edge expansion.) A few questions: What would zoochatters like me to find out or pay special attention to on my visits? Will Grizzly Ridge be opening at Saint Louis in time for my visit (My trip will be the week of May 21-27)? Are there any smaller zoos worth stopping by on the way?

2. pachyderm pro

pachyderm pro Well-Known Member 5+ year member