Join our zoo community

Planet Zoo Planet Zoo: Arctic Pack DLC

Discussion in 'Zoo Games & Simulators' started by CloudPardus, 12 Dec 2019.

  1. Ebirah766

    Ebirah766 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2016
    Posts:
    2,045
    Location:
    Out on the rim of New York
    I feel like I'm starting to warm up to the idea of the Arctic wolf. I'm not as apathetic about it anymore.
     
  2. CloudPardus

    CloudPardus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2018
    Posts:
    934
    Location:
    Malaysia
  3. SivatheriumGuy

    SivatheriumGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2019
    Posts:
    608
    Location:
    Basque country
    I never noticed that at the disclaimers at the start of the video mentioned "Crude humor":D
     
  4. DesertRhino150

    DesertRhino150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    1,676
    Location:
    Essex
    So one thing that is apparent from the Arctic DLC - the polar bear apparently needs an enclosure of at least 12,000 square metres and 4,000 square metres of water. It has a land requirement five times that of an African elephant (2,500 square metres) and a water requirement four times that of a hippopotamus (1,000 square metres).

    I get that polar bears need at least some level of space, but the amount of room required in the game seems utterly ridiculous to me.
     
    (Adsa), evilmonkey239 and Ebirah766 like this.
  5. taun

    taun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    3,719
    Location:
    England
    Esp when consider grizzly bears requirements are tiny....
     
  6. evilmonkey239

    evilmonkey239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2018
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yeah, the ridiculously large enclosure size requirement for the polar bears made me disable animal welfare in my current zoo.
     
  7. DesertRhino150

    DesertRhino150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    1,676
    Location:
    Essex
    Frontier have just announced that there will be an update later this week that will reduce the space requirements of the polar bear by half; they still require a massive enclosure but it is at least not as ridiculous as before.
     
  8. EsserWarrior

    EsserWarrior Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2018
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    As a sandbox player I'm thankful I can turn off those needs! :D
     
  9. birdsandbats

    birdsandbats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    17 Sep 2017
    Posts:
    5,212
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Why in the world would the Polar Bear size requirement be so high in the first place?
     
  10. Ebirah766

    Ebirah766 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2016
    Posts:
    2,045
    Location:
    Out on the rim of New York
    Welfare issues IRL. Frontier's playing it safe.
     
    evilmonkey239 and Jake like this.
  11. Junklekitteb

    Junklekitteb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2019
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    India
    I feel bad for all those players over enthusiastically expecting cetaceans:p
     
  12. Jake

    Jake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2018
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Jimboomba Qld
    Arctic Wolves - we already have Timber Wolves
    Reindeer - nothing to add
    Dall Sheep - ok I guess
    Polar Bear - different

    Where are the stoats!!!
     
  13. Ebirah766

    Ebirah766 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2016
    Posts:
    2,045
    Location:
    Out on the rim of New York
    Jake's asking the real questions here.
     
  14. Junklekitteb

    Junklekitteb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2019
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    India
    Isn’t it the only caprine in game, or am I wrong?
     
  15. birdsandbats

    birdsandbats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    17 Sep 2017
    Posts:
    5,212
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It is.
     
    evilmonkey239 and Junklekitteb like this.
  16. Coelacanth18

    Coelacanth18 Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2015
    Posts:
    2,052
    Location:
    United States
    8,000 sq m is still 2 acres... larger than probably any polar bear exhibit I've seen. Not sure why they stopped there if they were already reducing it.

    Then one would think elephants would be a concern, yet they only require 2,500 sq m (0.6 acres)...?
     
    Junklekitteb and evilmonkey239 like this.
  17. Jake

    Jake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2018
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Jimboomba Qld
    @birdsandbats maybe because they travel long distances on the wild?
     
  18. taun

    taun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    3,719
    Location:
    England
    Even if that was the reasoning its still crazy amount of space compared to the other bear species, I see what they are trying to do but half 2,000 sq m is enough for the game. It is a game after all, and if they talk about realism, the polar bears don't dive down into water...so they have not even made them realistic anyway.

    All for highlighting the best way to keep polar bears is a big exhibit and not a concrete jungle, however the space requirements are silly. Same for the Hippos...
     
    evilmonkey239 and Jake like this.
  19. evilmonkey239

    evilmonkey239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2018
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Michigan
    Then one would think elephants would be a concern, yet they only require 2,500 sq m (0.6 acres)...?[/QUOTE]
    And Indian elephants require even less space!