Join our zoo community

The Darker Side of Wildlife Photography

Discussion in 'Animal Photography' started by Hix, 26 Apr 2016.

1. Hix

Hix Wildlife Enthusiast and Lover of Islands 15+ year member Premium Member

Although this is centred largely in India, I'm sure it happens elsewhere around the world. But there does seem to be some broad generalisations and an attitude of tarring everyone with the same brush. Nowhere does it say this is only a small minority of the world's wildlife photographers.

The ugly side of wildlife photography

:p

Hix

2. Adrian k

Adrian k Well-Known Member

I have noticed this type of action on some of the rare bird sightings around the UK when you have people with large lens (500/600mm) try and get as close to the subject as they can with NO thought of the damage they are doing to the habitat around them.

I am a photographer myself and also a birder but just to make this clear there have been birders doing exactly the same just to get a better look at the subject and unfortunately it is a small minority in the UK that give us all a bad name.

3. Hix

Hix Wildlife Enthusiast and Lover of Islands 15+ year member Premium Member

I'm fairly certain it's like that all around the world, although in developing nations - like India - where greed and corruption are commonplace it is going to be worse.

:p

Hix

4. azcheetah2

azcheetah2 Well-Known Member

I was watching a YouTube video recently of some photo safari in Africa where people were "freaking out" because a Cheetah had jumped up on the hood of one of the tour vehicles, of which, there were many. Being quite familiar with the way Cheetahs are, I was more interested in the fact that he'd gotten so close to them than the fact that it was a "big cat" right there.