Join our zoo community

Wanted sulcata tortoises and advice

Discussion in 'Private Collections & Pets' started by 14666, 7 Aug 2017.

1. 14666

14666 Member

Hi guys,

I'm trying to source a couple of sulcata tortoises for a petting zoo in the UK set up (a farm park with a zoo licence) we already have a variety of reptiles in our reptile house, meerkats and wallabies in the pipeline. But sulcata tortoises are our next project. Any help and guidance is much appreciated.

P.S. I'm new to zoochat.

2. Swampy

Swampy Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Hi, welcome to Zoochat!
    Young sulcatas are very widely available from most reptile shops, but i'm presuming you're looking for larger individuals. I'd check any local reptile rescues/rehoming centres, as these places will often receive larger tortoises when they need a new home.

14666 likes this.
  3. Komodo99

Komodo99 Well-Known Member

I second that.I personally have taken care of a large Sulcata Tortoise before and I will say they are quite easily to be found in most private Reptile shops.Keep in mind you will need a large enclosure for them as an adult as they do get large as the one I used to look after had to carted about in a wheelbarrow!

As for what will be needed, you will need two basking heat spot lamps,UVB strip lights,large water bowl as enclosure set ups for adults.Juveniles can be kept in vivariums until they get to appropriate sizes.

Hiding caves may be necessary for juveniles but for an adult they may simply prefer a large amount of hay to bury themselves under.

When I comes to feeding,washed produce left out will be fine for them
    although they are best being left to graze in a grassy enclosure if you choose to do so.