Join our zoo community

what is behind the scenes in zoo

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by ahling023, 21 Sep 2011.

1. ahling023

ahling023 New Member

Hi everyone , i am ah ling , connie aged 13 this year . Singaporean

I am a animal lover , since small , i love to keep pets such as rabbit , hamster , cats .

i am new in this zoochat . i do not whether is there any same topics that i posted .

if dont mind , can i ask you all a question , prefer any zookeeper answer there .

eg , where will the animal be locked / confined when there is bad weather such as thunderstorm , raining heavily , snow and etc . and when the zookeeper is cleaning the animal that is dangerous , where will they locked the animal in . what is the places / building called . and where will the animal sleep at night .

thanks you . hope you all can help me on this question.

and some on .

got any zoo that is similar to singapore zoo ( open concept zoo ). i have visited singapore zoo many time and i feel kind of bored already .

2. headkeeper

headkeeper Member

Hello ah loni,
    what you ask is a very general question, and the answers would be different depending on what animals and which zoo you are asking about.
    As a general rule animals have indoor and outdoor areas that they can choose to go between themselves in bad weather, but what it is called is different for each animal. For example for big cats and bears it would be called a den, for birds it would be called nesting boxes, for zebras and giraffes it would be called stables etc. etc.
    Normally dangerous animals are locked outside while there den is cleaned, then locked in the den while their outside area is cleaned.
    At night animals are usually locked away into their inside area for security.
    Hope this helps!

3. ahling023

ahling023 New Member