Join our zoo community

Worst UK Zoos

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by willtheman45, 22 Jun 2009.

1. willtheman45

willtheman45 Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I'm new to Zoochat and this is my very first thread (I'm very excited!)

In your opinion what would you say the worst zoo/animal park is in UK at the moment for the quality of their enclosures for the animals. You can also pick rescue centres (like the Animalarium (shudder) and zoos that have recently closed (Mole Hall etc.)
    Please explain why you have made this choice-mine would be The Jungle in Cleethorpes-small Raccoon and Monkey enclosures with concrete floors and a couple of small poles for so-called 'enrichment'!:confused:

Thanks!:D

2. reduakari

reduakari Well-Known Member 15+ year member

From what I've seen in my short visits to the UK, and especially the many photos and descriptions on this site, you will have many candidates for this "award!"

Before I get attacked as a jingoist, I will concede an equally numerous field could be assembled of terrible US/North American institutions.

3. willtheman45

I think one of the main problems is that many of the best zoos in America (San Diego, Bronx etc.) are so absolutely fantastic that nearly all zoos will feel inferior to them in terms of quality.

But there are still many great zoos in the UK thankfully and a few bad ones as well (like the US)

4. OrangePerson

OrangePerson Well-Known Member 15+ year member

And there's the scary massive number of big animals in private hands (& small cages) in the States, I don't think there is quite so big a problem here.

Thankfully I've not visited any of the terrible places so can't make a proper judgement.

5. willtheman45

Any more zoo suggestions?

6. karenZOO

karenZOO Well-Known Member

Welcome to zoochat willtheman45 :D

Molehall was the worst zoo we have visited, I came home and cried :mad: