Join our zoo community

Tiger Enclosures UK

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by kiyajade, 10 Mar 2015.

1. kiyajade

kiyajade New Member

Hi all,

I am an Animal Science student writing an essay on tiger enclosures. I was wondering if anyone had detailed information on captive tigers in the UK. For example, a lot of zoo websites state that they have Sumatran tigers but do not say how many or whether they are male/female etc...
    I have visited some local zoos (Flamingoland Zoo, Chester, Yorkshire Wildlife Park) but would be very grateful of information further afield. Specifically: Edinburgh, Dartmoor, Paignton, Howlett's and Colchester.

Kiya

2. Campbell89

Campbell89 Well-Known Member

Not sure about Dartmoor, Paignton and Howlett's but I last visited Colchester in November and they had two Amur Tigers if I recall correctly. I believe Edinburgh has two Sumatran.

Not sure on the sexes, I think it's a male & female at each although hopefully someone else will confirm.

3. FBBird

FBBird Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Tiger Enclosures....

You might like to investigate Hamerton (generic subspecies hybrids) and Thrigby Hall (Sumatran), both of which have immersion Tiger enclosures.

4. pipaluk

pipaluk Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Sadly Colchester's female was found not to be pure Amur and they will not breed them again ,after one litter of cubs, which were DNS

5. Gigit

Gigit Well-Known Member

Paignton's Sumatran Tigers

Paignton's Sumatran tigers are:
    Male, Tenang, born in Perth 14 September 2000, Maku x Calang, arrived in Paignton December 2002
    Female, Shakira, who arrived from Berlin Tierpark on 2 October 2014. I don't have her birth details to hand at the moment.

6. oflory

oflory Well-Known Member 10+ year member Premium Member

7. kiyajade

kiyajade New Member

Wow, thanks so much! That's all really helpful. Thrigby Hall is particularly interesting!

8. spike241

spike241 Well-Known Member